Get To Know: Kellee – Provision Volunteer

They say it takes a village to raise a child. Well, it takes about as many to put on a play. In our Get To Know: posts, you’ll have a chance to hear the stories of some of the people who work behind the scenes at Provision Theater.

This week, get to know Kellee, one of our a Provision volunteers.


I never thought much of volunteering. Volunteering = stealing my free time. Wait…what’s free time? Laundry? I think I had some free time one summer…the time I broke my collar bone. Too much free time = new high scores on Galaga.

I have a confession… Provision Theater has changed my take on volunteering. See, in my previous life, before children, I was an active theater participator.. Loved creating. Loved performing. I loved participating so much, it didn’t matter if I were paid or not.  Looking back, did I ever even make enough to cover the price of gas? I did it for the sheer joy.

I discovered that 3 kids later, something hasn’t changed about me. I am still in love with the theater. I am passionate about a story told with excellence.

When I heard that Provision was looking for volunteers, I felt grateful. I have been attracted to Provision Theater for 7 years. I’ve kept my eye on them and believed that we were the perfect match. I just wasn’t sure how to connect. Volunteering kicked that door down for me and gave me a chance to do something I love while supporting something I love.

I’m excited to be a part of The Hiding Place production and recommend you stay tuned – big things are coming (did someone say flash mob…?)

Leave a Reply

